Van der Waals colloquium- Alan M. Bond (Monash University, Australia): 'Synthesis, characterization and reactivity of a new class of anti-cancer drugs'



16:00 hrs


Sitterzaal, Oort building, Leiden


Cisplatin (cis-[Pt(NH3)2(Cl)2]) is at present one of the most widely used anticancer drugs. A vivid worldwide search for equally or more effective Pt containing drugs is ongoing. A highly promising class of compounds is based on substituted organoenamineamides like trans-[PtII{(p-BrC6F4)NCH2CH2NEt2}Cl(py)] (see Figure above on the left) depicting the X-ray crystal structure of a substituted organoenamineamide). Structural isomers have been isolated and crystallographic properties including agostic interactions, inter and intramolecular H-bonding and other supramolecular interactions have been explored that are relevant to their DNA- binding properties. In vitro testing of the anticancer behaviour against MCF-7 and HT-29 cell lines revealed the high activity of these drugs. Chemical oxidation with hydrogen peroxide, provides new ligand oxidised platinum(II) complexes that represent another potential source of anti-cancer drugs. In contrast, electrochemical conditions have been identified that favour the generation of formally metal centre oxidised platinum(III) rather than ligand oxidised species. EPR, UV-Vis, IR and XFAS methods have been used to characterise the unexpectedly stable platinum(III) species. Slow rearrangement of monomeric platinum(III) species to their ligand oxidized counterparts has been probed by 1H, 19F and 195Pt NMR and UV-Vis spectroscopy. *In collaboration with Ruchika Ohja, Glen Deacon, Peter Junk and Stephen Best. [Alan Bond is well known for his contributions to the development of electrochemical techniques. He is author of over 850 publications. Among the many distinctions he received are the Faraday medal (2000) of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Craig medal (2004) of the Australian Academy of Science, the C.N. Reilley Award (2005) from the Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry (USA) and the Electrochimica Gold medal (2014) of the International Society of Electrochemistry.]