HFSP Research Grant 2015 for Nynke Dekker (Delft BN)


The International Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSPO) is awarding about $35 million to the 31 winning teams of the 2015 competition for the HFSP Research Grants. Applicants went through a rigorous year-long selection procedure in a global competition that started with 1013 submitted letters of intent representing an increase of 20% compared to the previous year. In 2015, 10 Young Investigator teams were approved (involving 31 scientists) together with 21 Program Grants (involving 67 scientists). Each team member receives on average $110,000 - $125,000 per year for three years.

HFSP collaborative research grants are given for a broad range of projects under the umbrella theme of “Complex mechanisms of living organisms”. Particular emphasis is placed on cutting-edge, risky projects. Two types of research grants are awarded: Young Investigator Grants for teams of scientists who are all within 5 years of obtaining their first independent position and Program Grants, which are open to teams of scientists at any stage of their careers. While there are bilateral or regional agreements for international collaboration, the HFSP grant program is unique because it is the only one that encourages bottom-up applications from teams involving scientists worldwide.

Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, Secretary General of HFSPO, comments that the “increased number of applications sends a strong message. The interest for international collaboration within the scientific community remains very high and our grant program is the only existing mechanism that supports scientists from more than two countries in a joint research effort. HFSP grants are unique because they offer a broad and unrestricted collaborative approach to teams of outstanding scientists from all over the world.”

A strong preference is given to intercontinental collaborations. The awardees’ laboratories are located in 24 different countries, including 46 laboratories in Europe, 26 in North America, 5 in Japan and 4 in Canada as well as laboratories in non-member countries: Brazil, China, Israel and Taiwan. In this round, the selected scientists are of 30 different nationalities with American and German scientists being the most numerous.

Prof. dr. Nynke Dekker
Prof. dr. Nynke Dekker was awarded with a HFSP research grant for her proposal 'Stabilizing RNA virus vaccine strains by elucidating triggers and mechanisms of recombination,' of which she will be Principal Investigator. In the project, prof. Dekker will closely cooperate with Craig Cameron of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Pennsylvania State University (USA), and Shin-Ru Shih from the Research Center for Emerging Viral Infections, Chang Gung University, Kwei-Shan (Taiwan).

For more information on HFSP, follow this link. For more information on Nynke Dekker's research, click here.