Jo Hermans wins EPS Gero Thomas Commemorative Medal


(By: Universiteit Leiden / LION)
The European Physical Society (EPS) has awarded the Gero Thomas Commemorative Medal 2017 to Jo Hermans, emeritus Professor in Physics in Leiden. He wins the award for his role as Science Editor of Europhysics News and his numerous contributions to education and public understanding of physics.

The prize was created in 2000 to honour the memory of G. Thomas, who was the Secretary General of the EPS from 1973 to 1997 and played an essential role in the growth and the development of the Society. The Commemorative Medal is awarded to individuals for their outstanding service to the Society.


26 - 30 June 2017

BioBusiness Summer Schoollink

20 July 2017

Casimir Cafélink

21 - 25 August 2017

Topological Matter School 2017link


29 March 2011 - 1 January 2018

Casimir Course: Hot Topicslink