APS selected Gerrit Bauer, Hans Brom, Martin van Hecke, Teun Klapwijk, Yuli Nazarov, Wim van Saarloos, Jan Zaanen as Outstanding Referees


Gerrit Bauer, Hans Brom, Teun Klapwijk, Yuli Nazarov, Martin van Hecke, Wim van Saarloos, and Jan Zaanen were selected as Outstanding Referees by the American Physical Society.

The Outstanding Referee program was instituted in 2008. The highly selective award program recognizes scientists who have been exceptionally helpful in assessing manuscripts for publication in the APS journals with this lifetime award. The program will annually recognize approximately 130 of the 42,000 currently active referees, but in the inaugural year a larger group of 534 referees has been selected for the Outstanding Referee designation.

The basis for choosing the honorees was the quality, number, and timeliness of their reports. In this first year of the program the lifetime of work contributed by a referee was emphasized.