Programme DutchBiophysics





Monday 5 October 2020

12:00 Arrival
12:30 Conference opening
12:40 - 13:20 Plenary lecture by Lukas Kapitein (Utrecht University)
13:25 - 14:10 Parallel sessions
14:10 - 14:20 Short break
14:20 - 15:05 Parallel sessions
15:05 - 15:15 Short break
15:15 - 15:55 Plenary lecture by Lisa Manning (Syracuse University)
16:00 - 16:40 Plenary lecture by Elizabeth Hillmann (Columbia University)
16:45 - 19:30 Dinner break including:

16:45 - 17:45 Teaming up with industry
16:45 - 16:50 Award ceremony of the BioPM Thesis Award
16:50 - 17:00 Lecture by laureate of the BioPM Thesis Award
18:30 - 18:50 Poster session Monday evening 1
18:50 - 19:10 Poster session Monday evening 2
19:10 - 19:30 Poster session Monday evening 3
19:30 - 20:30 Plenary lecture by Carolyn Larabell (University of California San Francisco & Lawrence Berkeley National Lab)
20:30 - 20:40 End of programme, teaser for day 2

Tuesday 6 October 2020

09:00 - 09:05 Opening
09:05 - 09:45 Plenary lecture by Nils Gauthier (IFOM, Milan)
09:50 - 10.30 Plenary lecture by Jeroen van Zon (AMOLF)
10:30 - 10:55 Poster session Tuesday morning 1          
10:55 - 11:15 Poster session Tuesday morning 2          
11:15 - 11:35 Poster session Tuesday morning 3          
11.35 - 12:30 Lunch break including: Open platform Physics of Life (staff only)
12:30 - 13:15 Parallel sessions
13:15 - 13:25 Short break
13:25 - 14:10 Parallel sessions
14:10 - 14:20 Short break
14:20 - 15:00 Plenary lecture by Sjoerd Stallinga (Delft University of Technology)
15:05 - 15:45 Plenary lecture by Ellen Nollen (University of Groningen)
15:50 - 16:00 Award ceremony of the BioPM Poster Prize
16:00 - 16:10 Short break
16:10 - 16:50 Lecture by Spinoza Laureate Nynke Dekker (Delft University of Technology)
16:50 Closing remarks
17:00 End of conference


Invited speakers

Keynote speaker: Carolyn Larabell (University of California San Francisco & Lawrence Berkeley National Lab)

Professor Larabell obtained a PhD in zoology from Arizona State University. It was while doing postdoctoral research at University of California, Davis on developmental biology, that she got involved in electron microscopy in order to image calcium. In 1994 she came to Berkeley Lab to set up an intermediate voltage transmission electron microscope. She soon began working with visible light wavelengths used in a confocal microscope. The dual experience served her well for working with x-rays.

She received the Shirley Award in 2017.

Carolyn Larabell is the Director of the National Center for X-ray Tomography, which develops novel imaging technologies for biological and biomedical research.

She has mastered both electron and confocal microscopy and is now blazing new trail s with the x-ray microscope, XM-1, at Berkeley Lab’s Advanced Light Source (ALS).

"Our ultimate goal is to combine the spatial resolution power of x-ray microscopy with the temporal information you can get from visible light microscopy," Larabell says. "It's a lot of work but I think we're making pretty good progress."

CT scans of single cells with soft x-ray tomography
Much like medical CT scans reveal anatomical structures in the body, soft x-ray tomography visualizes and quantifies the organization of sub-cellular structures within a cell. The specimen is illuminated with x-ray photons in the 'water window' (284-543eV). These x-rays are absorbed an order of magnitude more strongly by carbon- and nitrogen-containing organic material than by water. Variations in biomolecule composition and concentration generate high-contrast images of intact, hydrated cells. Absorption adheres to Beer-Lambert law; therefore quantitative information and unique linear absorption coefficient values are obtained for each cellular structure. Correlated cryogenic fluorescence and x-ray tomography is used to localize molecules.

International speakers 

Lisa Manning (Syracuse University) info
Nils Gauthier (IFOM, Milan)
Elizabeth Hillman (Columbia University)

National speakers

Jeroen van Zon (AMOLF)
Sjoerd Stallinga (Delft University of Technology)
Lukas Kapitein (Utrecht University)
Ellen Nollen (University Medical Center Groningen)
Nynke Dekker (Delft University of Technology)