Utrecht University: Day on TEM- and SEM-based materials characterization / register before November 1st!



10:00 - 18:30


Academiegebouw, Utrecht


On the 19th of November 2013 Utrecht University will host a one day meeting dedicated to Electron Microscopy in Materials Science. The aim of this meeting is to bring together researchers, students and technical staff from across The Netherlands that are interested in TEM- and SEM-based materials characterization.

The meeting will consist of plenary talks from Quentin Ramasse (SuperSTEM, UK) and  Rafal Dunin-Borkowski (Ernst Ruska Centre, Germany), parallel oral sessions of invited talks emphasizing the activities of most Dutch Electron Microscopy Centers using TEM and SEM and an open poster session. The detailed program can be found below.

Please register via the website before the 1st of November. The registration fee is only 50 € per person and includes printed proceedings, coffee, lunch and drinks.

The meeting venue will be the ‘Academiegebouw’ in the old city center of Utrecht.


Plenary Lectures:

Quentin Ramasse (SuperSTEM, UK): Single atom spectroscopy in low voltage STEM

Rafal Dunin-Borkowski (Ernst Ruska Centre, Germany): New opportunities and challenges in chromatic aberration corrected transmission electron microscopy and electron holography


TEM session:

Jürgen Plitzko (Utrecht University) Electron Microscopy of Biological Materials at the Nanometer Scale

Jouk Jansen (TU Delft) Quantitative Electron Diffraction: Going beyond atomic positions

Bart Kooi (University of Groningen) Cross section TEM of ferroelectric oxide and exciting telluride thin films

Nico Sommderdijk (TU Eindhoven) CryoTEM in Materials Science: Studying Bio-inspired Material Synthesis

Bart Goris (University of Antwerp) 3D characterization of metallic nanoparticles at the atomic scale

Daniela Sudfeld (FEI) Analytical transmission electron microscopy in the third dimension


SEM session:

Paul Alkemade (TU Delft) Imaging and nanofabrication with a subnanometer helium ion beam

Sense Jan van der Molen (Leiden University) LEEM, the third way in electron microscopy

Hans Dijkstra (ThermoScientific) Recent developments in Parallel Beam WDS

Nick Thissen (TU Eindhoven) Towards lithography-free fabrication of graphene devices

Matthijs de Winter (Utrecht University) Cryo-FIB-SEM applications for Material Sciences

Maartje Houben (Utrecht University) BIB -SEM investigation of the in-situ 2D microstructure of claystones



Utrecht University, NVvM & SEN, FEI, JEOL, ThermoScientific, Bruker, CarlZeiss B.V., EDAX, Namitec.